Gotta Pick ’em All!

Lately, I’ve been hearing this refrain from my conservative friends, as well as conservative media types: “The election is over. You lost. Get over it.” My response to that has been it’s not merely the fact that Clinton didn’t win the presidency, it’s that Trump did. I wasn’t this upset or anxious when George W. Bush won in 2000. It’s less about a Republican in the White House than it is that a misguided, thin-skinned real estate tycoon who has no political experience, and has shown it, is in office.

I’ve also heard a common statement from liberal commentators: “Pick your battles.” They suggest that some things Trump is doing are innocuous enough that we can let them slide, and we can then focus on bigger issues.

Unfortunately, the way I see it, all Trump’s issues are big ones. Fortunately, the anti-Trump movement has enough people to address all the issues.

Everyone saw the large crowds on Saturday the 21st all over the country. (OK, maybe everyone except President Trump.) That was a huge outpouring of support, and even if it doesn’t influence any lawmakers, it galvanizes the anti-Trump people and gives the energy to continue.

Certainly, with all those people involved, we can address all Trump’s issues; we don’t have to pick our battles. We can use President Trump’s own tactics against him. (It felt very good to say that.) In a previous blog post, Lies, Damn Lies, and Tweets, I said that a strategy President Trump and many of his on-air surrogates use is to throw many lies at us so fast that we can’t keep up. If we all continue to call President Trump out on all his actions, and start lawsuits wherever possible, we can inundate him and his staff so much that they will be spending all their energy fighting back, and won’t have time or energy left to further screw up the country.

In the same blog post, I talked about acting like they did in the old Faberge commercial: I’ll tell two friends, and they’ll tell two friends, and so on, and so on, and so on.

Maybe if each larger organization focuses on their area of strength (DGA on state issues, DNC and Congress on federal issues, Greenpeace on environmental issues, and so on), we can tackle all the issues. There are certainly enough groups who have been affected by one or more of Trump’s executive orders that they all can be addressed without overlap.

Individually, we probably do need to pick our battles, just so we don’t get burned out. But, let’s support everyone else who is picking their separate battles. If we hit the wall in enough places, soon enough a weak spot will appear, and the whole thing will come crashing down. (I hope some Mexicans hear that and start assaulting the real wall – if it ever comes close to being built.)

Personally, I wrote to my two senators and my representative and asked them not to replace the ACA until a substitute plan is ready to be put in place. I explained how the ACA helped me, and how it is helping millions of Americans who will have no fallback position if it is repealed. I heard back from two of them. I don’t think I swayed them, but they did hear my voice, and some staffer added one more check to the “opposed” side in the repeal the ACA discussion.

Tell me your stories about what you’re doing to counteract the onslaught coming from the White House. I’d love to hear from you, and others will feel supported and emboldened by your stories.

Pick your battles? We gotta pick ’em all!

Leave a Reply

