Fun with Instant Messaging

No, this is not a listing of embarrassing auto-corrects. There are enough sites devoted to that already out there; anything I post here would simply be a repost from those sites.

This is something I found more fun. My Android phone has a feature on its IM app that suggests the next word when I type a message. (I’m sure most message apps have this feature.) I’ve typed “I’m on my way home” so many times that I can just type “I’m,” then choose the first word offered each time until I complete my message.

So, I thought, what kind of random message can come from exclusively following this idea? I type in a word, then choose the first word offered, and continue until I get bored or tired. Here’s what I get when I start with the word “At:”

At Lakeline Station and I have a meeting this evening from the participants in a meeting at this evening from the participants in a meeting…

Then it started repeating itself. I guess I’m at Lakeline Station quite a bit.

Here’s one starting with the more unusual word “Fly:”

Fly to the troop meeting with you and I have a pretty good handle on the COT tracking program <name withheld> showed me a while to find work in the bus now I’m on my way home from the participants in a meeting…

Do I really go to that many meetings? Last one, starting with my name “Jim,” which I rarely use in a text:

Jim and I have a meeting this evening from the participants in a meting at home and I have a meeting this…

There’s that blasted meeting again. OK, last one. This starts with “The elephant:

The elephant in a meeting at home and abroad to get you anything else I would be willing to stick around for the bus now I’m on a meeting this evening from the participants…

Well, maybe your life and texts are more interesting than mine. If you try this and want to share, please post your favorite auto-fill texts.

Leave a Reply

